Skip to content

Frontiers of Condensed Matter 2024

The 9th International Doctoral Training SessionFrontiers of Condensed Matter” will take place in Les Houches, Sep 16-27, 2024.

This session is organized jointly by the Physics Graduate School of Grenoble (France), the Quantum Nanoscience Department at the Delft University of Technology (Netherlands), the Donostia International Physics Center in San Sebastian (Spain), the Graduate School of Quantum Matter at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (Germany), and the Swiss Nanoscience Institute in Basel (Switzerland). It aims at offering final year Master students and junior PhD-students (1st/2nd year) a high-level training program in the general area of condensed matter physics.

The session will consist of lecture series on the following topics:

  • Quantum transport – Carlo Beenakker (Leiden, NL)
  • Quantum materials – Vidya Madhavan (Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Mesoscopic superconductivity – Sophie Guéron (Paris, FR)
  • Topological phases – Adolfo Grushin (Grenoble, FR)
  • Open quantum systems – Anja Metelmann (Karlsruhe, GER) 
  • Circuit QED – Zaki Leghtas (Paris, FR)

The lectures will complemented by more specialized pedagogical seminars on timely topics such as quantum information, quantum error correction, …, poster sessions, and discussion forums.

List of seminar speakers: Natalia Chepiga (Netherlands), Silvano De Francheschi (France), Maria Gastiasoro (Spain), Yaroslav Herasymenko (Netherlands), Christophe Mora (France), Silke Paschen (Austria), Marta Pita-Vidal (Switzerland).

The cost of the session including meals and accommodation is 858€. Students of the participating organizations may contact one of the local organizers to inquire about financial support.

Deadline for application: June 15, 2024.

If you have any questions, please contact


  • Sebastien Bergeret – DIPC, CFM/CSIC (Spain)
  • Julia Meyer – Université Grenoble Alpes (France)
  • Jörg Schmalian – KIT (Germany)
  • Christian Schönenberger – University of Basel (Switzerland)
  • Gary Steele – TU Delft (Netherlands)


  • Physics Graduate School of Grenoble (France)          
  • QuantAlps Federation (France)  
  • QuanTEdu-France Project (France)       
  • Kavli Institute of Nanoscience Delft (Netherlands)
  • Leiden University (Netherlands)
  • Donostia International Physics Center (San Sebastian, Spain)
  • Graduate School of Quantum Matter, KIT (Germany)
  • Transregional Collaborative Research Center “Elasto-Q-Mat” (Germany)
  • Swiss Nanoscience Institute (Basel, Switzerland)